Governing Board

The day-to-day management of the De Nederlandsche Bank rests with the Governing Board, consisting of a President and up to five Executive Directors. Governing Board members are appointed by the Crown, for consecutive seven-year tenures.

Klaas Knot

Klaas Knot

Prof. Klaas Knot has been President of De Nederlandsche Bank since 1 July 2011. In that capacity he holds seats on the Governing Council and General Council of the European Central Bank as well as on the Financial Stability Board, besides being a Governor of the International Monetary Fund. Before joining the DNB Board, Knot was Deputy Treasurer-General and Director of Financial Markets at the Dutch Ministry of Finance (2009–2011). From 1995 to 2009 he held several posts at DNB, varying from (senior) economist to Director of the Supervisory Policy division. At different intervals during this period Knot was with the International Monetary Fund (1998-1999) and the then Pensions and Insurance Supervisory Authority (2003-2004).

Knot holds several secondary positions. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Bank for International Settlements and chairman of the Koning Willem I Foundation, the Mr. N.G. Pierson Foundation, Supervisory Board of the Teylers Museum and the Supervisory Board of Stichting CliniClowns. Since 2005, he has been Professor of Economics of Central Banking at the University of Groningen. Knot has published a variety of articles in leading (international) journals in monetary and financial economics.

In 1991, Klaas Knot graduated with honours in Economics at the University of Groningen. In 1995 he obtained a doctorate in Economics. Born: 14 April 1967 in Onderdendam.

Jan Sijbrand

Jan Sijbrand

Dr. Jan Sijbrand joined the Governing Board of De Nederlandsche Bank on 1 July 2011 as Executive Director and Chairman of Supervision and is responsible for banking supervision and supervisory policy. As per 1 January 2014 Sijbrand holds a seat on the Supervisory Board of the European Central Bank, which governs the Eurozone's Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM).

Before joining the Governing Board of DNB, Sijbrand was Chief Risk Officer at NIBC Bank (2008-2011). From 1996 to 2007, he worked for ABN AMRO as, successively, Head of Market Risk, Head of Risk Management, Global Head of Derivatives Trading, Structuring and Marketing and Head of Global Markets Europe. At ABN AMRO he also held the joint chairmanship of the Group Risk Committee.

From 1992 until 1996, Sijbrand obtained sales and trading experience in the positions of Head of Derivatives Trading and Sales and Head of Fixed Income Trading, Marketing and Sales at Rabobank. Before this, he worked for Shell in several positions in research, manufacturing and trading (1981–1992).

Sijbrand represents The Netherlands and DNB in the Board of Supervisors of the European Banking Authority (EBA), as well as in EBA's Management Board. Sijbrand also sits on the Board of Directors for the Treasury Management postgraduate programme at VU University, Amsterdam.

In 1981, Jan Sijbrand obtained a doctorate in mathematics at the University of Utrecht, where he had earlier earned a Research Master’s degree in applied mathematics (1975). Born: 11 July 1954 in Zaandam.

Directeur Kellermann

Joanne Kellermann

Ms A.J. Kellermann has been an Executive Director of De Nederlandsche Bank since November 2007. Her responsibilities include Pension Supervision, Insurance Supervision and the centres of expertise for Supervision. In 2005, Ms Kellermann joined DNB as its General Counsel and director of the Legal Services division.

Her various additional positions include a seat on the Board of Governors of the Van Gogh Museum.

From 1992, Kellerman was a partner in the NautaDutilh law firm. From 2001 until 2005, she headed the firm’s financial practice in London. Her international experience also encompasses a period as foreign associate in New York. She began her career as a lawyer at Nauta van Haersholte in Amsterdam. During her career as a lawyershe specialised in international financial transactions and advising on supervisory laws and regulations ranked among her main activities.

Ms Kellermann completed her study of civil law at Leiden University in 1984 and was sworn in as a member of the bar in Amsterdam that same year. Born: 27 December 1960 in Eindhoven.

Frank Elderson

Frank Elderson

Frank Elderson (1970) has served as an executive director of De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) since 1 July 2011. His portfolio comprises Payments (cash and non-cash), Legal Affairs, Finance, IT, Communication, Human Resources, Security, Facility Management, Internal Auditing and the Board Secretariat.

Before joining DNB’s Governing Board, Elderson served as Director of the Legal Services division (2007), Head of the ABN AMRO supervision department (2006), and General Counsel of DNB (2008).

After entering the service of DNB in 1999, Elderson held various managing positions in the Legal Affairs division, as well as representing DNB on the Legal Committee of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB). He received his professional training as a lawyer with Houthoff Advocaten & Notarissen from 1995 to 1998.

Elderson studied law at the University of Amsterdam (1990-1994) and constitutional law, international private law and civil law at the University of Zaragoza, Spain (1993-1994). He graduated as Master of Laws at the University of Amsterdam in 1994, and obtained an LL.M. Degree at Columbia Law School, New York City, the year thereafter.

Directeur Swank

Job Swank

Prof. Job Swank became Executive Director of Monetary Affairs and Financial Stability at De Nederlandsche Bank on 1 December 2011. He is responsible for economic policy and research, financial markets, financial stability and statistics.

Swank holds several additional positions. He has been Professor of Economic Policy at the Erasmus University Rotterdam since 2002 and is a Crown Member of the social and economic council SER. Swank has also published a range of articles in national and international professional economic journals.

Before joining DNB’s Governing Board he was Division Director of Economic Policy and Research at DNB (2006-2011). He previously held various management positions at DNB, including at the Department of Economic and Monetary Policy, which he joined as an economist in 1987. Swank started his career as a lecturer in macro-economic policy at the Erasmus University Rotterdam. For a brief period he also worked at the Ministry of Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment.

Job Swank studied economics at the Erasmus University Rotterdam and obtained a doctorate in economics at the VU University Amsterdam in 1994.
Born: 13 November 1955 in Breukelen.