Governing Board

The day-to-day management of the De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) rests with the Governing Board, consisting of a President and up to five Executive Directors. Governing Board members are appointed by the Crown, for seven-year tenures.

Klaas Knot

Klaas Knot

Professor Klaas H.W. Knot has been President of De Nederlandsche Bank since July 1st, 2011. He serves as Vice Chair of the Financial Stability Board and Chair of its Standing Committee on the Assessment of Vulnerabilities. He is a member of the Governing Council and the General Council of the European Central Bank, member of the European Systemic Risk Board, Governor of the International Monetary Fund, Governor of the Bank for International Settlements and also member of its Board of Directors.

Klaas holds several secondary positions. He is Chairman of the Supervisory Boards of the Teylers Museum and the CliniClowns Foundation. Since 2005, he has been Honorary Professor of Economics of Central Banking at the University of Groningen and since 2015 he is also Honorary Professor of Monetary Stability at the University of Amsterdam. Klaas has published several articles in leading (international) journals in monetary and financial economics.

Before taking up DNB’s presidency, Klaas was Deputy Treasurer-General and Director of Financial Markets at the Dutch Ministry of Finance (2009-2011). Between 1995 and 2009 he held several positions at DNB, the Pension and Insurance Authority (2003-2004) and the International Monetary Fund (1998-1999).

In 1991, he graduated with honours in economics at the University of Groningen. In 1995, he obtained his PhD in economics.

Born: 14 April 1967, Onderdendam

Else Bos

Else Bos

Else Bos joined the Governing Board on 1 July 2018 as Executive Director and Chair for Prudential Supervision. Her responsibilities include insurance firms and pension funds supervision, and supervision policy.

Else holds several secondary positions. Since 2019 Else has been a member of the Executive Committee of the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) and a member of the Sustainable Accounting Standards Board (SASB) Foundation. Since 2018, Else has also been a Strategic Advisor to the Board of Directors of Focusing Capital on the Long Term (FCLT Global). Since 2017, she has been a Trustee of the IFRS Foundation and in 2012 she became a Supervisory Board member of the Dutch National Opera & Ballet.

Prior to joining DNB's Governing Board, Else was the CEO of pension provider PGGM (2013-2017). She also held various other board positions at PGGM, such as Chief Institutional Business (2010-2013), Chief Executive Officer Investments (2005-2009) and COO Investments (2002-2005). Prior to this, she worked for NIB Capital Asset Management and ABN AMRO.

Else Bos studied econometrics at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Date of birth: 24 November 1959, Rotterdam.

Frank Elderson

Frank Elderson

Frank Elderson has been an Executive Director of Supervision at DNB since 1 July 2011. He is responsible for supervision of banks, horizontal functions and integrity supervision, and legal affairs. He is a member of the Supervisory Board of the European Central Bank.

Frank holds several secondary positions. Since 2018, he has been chairman of the Network of Central Banks and Supervisors for Greening the Financial System (NGFS). In addition, he has been chairman of the Sustainable Finance Platform since 2016. Frank has also chaired the FEC Board since 2016. He has been chairman of the Management Board of the Netherlands Violin Competition Foundation since 2016 and chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Dutch Reading Foundation since 2017. Frank has been a member of the Reflection Council of the Netherlands Public Prosecution Service since 2019.

Before joining the Governing Board, Frank served as DNB's General Counsel (2008-2011). He was the Director of the Legal Services Division (2007) and Head of the ABN AMRO Supervision Department (2006).

After joining DNB in 1999, Frank held various management positions in the Legal Services Division, as well as representing DNB on various working groups of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB). Frank started his professional career in 1995 as a lawyer with Houthoff Advocaten & Notarissen.

He completed the first year of the Dutch law university programme with honours in 1990 and studied at the University of Zaragoza, Spain, in 1993 and 1994. Elderson earned his degree in Dutch law at the University of Amsterdam in 1994. He obtained an LLM degree from Columbia Law School, in the United States, in 1995. Frank was sworn in as a lawyer in the Netherlands in 1995. Date of birth: 18 May 1970, Utrecht

Job Swank

Directeur Swank

Professor Job Swank has been Executive Director of Monetary Affairs and Financial Stability since 1 December 2011. He is responsible for economic policy and research, financial stability, financial markets, payments and statistics.

Job Swank holds several secondary positions. He has been Professor of Economic Policy at the Erasmus University Rotterdam since 2002 and is a Crown-appointed member of the Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands. Job Swank has published a range of articles in domestic and international economic journals.

Before joining the Governing Board, he was Director of DNB's Economic Policy and Research Division (2006-2011). He previously held various management positions, including at the Department of Economic and Monetary Policy, which he joined as an economist in 1987. Job Swank started his career as a lecturer in macroeconomic policy at Erasmus University Rotterdam. He also worked at the Ministry of Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment.

Job Swank studied economics at Erasmus University Rotterdam. He obtained his PhD in economics at VU University Amsterdam in 1994. Date of birth: 13 November 1955, Breukelen.

Nicole Stolk

Nicole Stolk

Nicole Stolk has been Executive Director of Resolution since 1 July 2018. She is responsible for the deposit guarantee scheme and the resolution of failing banks and insurance firms. As head of the National Resolution Authority (NRA) she is a member of the Single Resolution Board (SRB) and a member of the Resolution Committee of the European Banking Authority (EBA).

In addition, Nicole is responsible for DNB's internal operations, including HR, ICT, finance, auditing, second-line risk management and communication (560 FTEs).

Nicole holds several secondary positions. Since 2018, she has been a member of the Supervisory Board of De Weerwolf Huizen Foundation and a Board member of the VUmc Cancer Center Amsterdam Foundation. Since 2019 she has been a member of the Scholenstrijd Recommending Committee.

Prior to joining the Governing Board, Nicole was Secretary-Director at DNB (2016-2018). Before that time, she was the Deputy Secretary General at the Ministry of Security and Justice (2012-2016). Between 2007 and 2012, Nicole worked at the Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations as Director of Operational Management and Director for HR, Strategy, ICT and Governance, and as Director-General for Corporate Staff and Operational Management. She was a senior manager at Deloitte and Touche in 2002-2003. Nicole started her career as a press officer at the Ministry of Health and Culture (now Health, Welfare and Sports), and held various policy positions (1991-2000).

Nicole Stolk studied history and law at Leiden University. Date of birth: 16 August 1969, Oosterhout.