EBA decision-making process

Date 25 September 2012

EBA decisions are ultimately taken by its Board of Supervisors. However, other bodies are also involved in the overall decision-making process.  

Logo EBA

The Board of Supervisors is the principal decision-making body of the European Banking Authority (EBA). Its 29 members, together with the chairman and vice-chairman, are the most senior prudential regulators in the EU. The Supervisory Board member for the Netherlands is Jan Sijbrand, Executive Director responsible for banking supervision and supervisory policy at DNB. The EBA chairperson is Andrea Enria. The Board takes most of its decisions through a simple majority vote. However, decisions concerning regulations can only be passed by a majority of 74%, based on qualified majority voting as defined in the Treaty of Nice. 
Preparations by national supervisors
The daily management of the EBA is in the hands of the Management Board, which is composed of six members. Its role is to prepare the decision-making process. The actual work preceding decision-making is carried out by five standing committees, with sub-groups to address all substantive issues. The standing committees and sub-groups consist of experts from the various national supervisory authorities. Staff from DNB are also represented in these working groups. In addition, several DNB staff are seconded to the EBA on one or two-year assignments. 
Banking Stakeholder Group
Other, non-supervisory, stakeholders can also exercise influence over the EBA. This can be done through the 30-member Banking Stakeholder Group, which includes representatives from credit and investment institutions throughout Europe, consumer organisations, academics and other interested parties. The Banking Stakeholder Group is an important feedback and monitoring group for the EBA. It facilitates the consultation process that the EBA is implementing for all standards and guidelines. The sole Dutch participant is Arnold Kuijpers of Rabobank.  
More information?