Alexander Rinnooy Kan appointed Chairman of the Supervisory Board of De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)

Press release
Date 20 April 2012

The shareholder of De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB), the State of the Netherlands, has appointed Alexander Rinnooy Kan, currently Chairman of the Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands (SER), as Chairman of the Supervisory Board of DNB as of 1 July 2012.

DNB President Klaas Knot commented: “The Governing Board of DNB is absolutely delighted that Alexander Rinnooy Kan has accepted the chairmanship. His wealth of managerial experience and extensive knowledge will allow him to give substance to the further strengthening of the supervisory role of our Supervisory Board in a decisive and effective manner. The Governing Board looks forward to a fruitful cooperation with Alexander.

At the same time, we would like to express our sincere gratitude to Fokko van Duyne, who, with his unremitting drive and enormous expertise has made an extremely valuable contribution to the Supervisory Board. Under his chairmanship the Supervisory Board has been able to be of great importance to De Nederlandsche Bank."
As of 1 July 2012, Mr Rinnooy Kan will take over the chairmanship from Mr van Duyne, who will step down after serving the maximum term of appointment of twelve years. Mr van Duyne joined DNB’s Supervisory Board in 2000 and has been its Chairman since 2004.
Fokko van Duyne welcomed Alexander Rinnooy Kan: “My successor is faced with the task of strengthening the supervisory role of the Supervisory Board. He is the right person for the job. I wish Alexander every success in this new challenge.”
Rinnooy Kan has been Crown-appointed member and Chairman of the SER since August 2006 and will resign from this position on 1 September 2012. He is also part-time Professor of Policy Analysis in the Public and Private Sector at the University of Amsterdam. Following his chairmanship of the Confederation of Netherlands Industry and Employers (VNO) from 1991 and its successor VNO-NCW from 1995, Rinnooy Kan joined the Executive Board of ING in 1996, a position he held until June 2006.


For further information, please contact Herman Lutke Schipholt (Tel. +31 20 524 2712 and +31 6 524 96 900), Kees Verhagen (Tel. +31 20 524 2272 and +31 6 211 23 922), Flore Kraaijeveld (Tel. +31 20 524 3091 and +31 6 3102 8660) or Remko Vellenga (Tel. +31 20 524 2712 and +31 6 524 96 574).