Design of euro coins

The designs of the euro banknotes are joint productions of the European Commission and the euro countries. There are eight different denominations of euro coins: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, €1 and €2. Each denomination has its own distinctive size, colour and design. Euro coins have one common European and a national side.

Euro coins have one common European and a national side.

National side of euro coins: Netherlands

The Dutch €1 coin with the portrait of King Willem-Alexander.

The national sides are designed by each euro country. Dutch euro coins have two designs. The first series by Bruno Ninaber van Eyben has the portrait of former queen Beatrix. The second series is a design by Erwin Olaf and has the portrait of King Willem-Alexander.

National sides of euro coins from other euro countries

The Italian €1 coin shows a famous drawing by Leonardo da Vinci.

The other euro countries also have their own euro coins, including Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City and Andorra. Some countries use a single design for the national sides of all their euro coins, such as the portrait of their monarch, for example, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Austria, Italy and Slovenia have separate designs for each coin, while others use three or four different designs. Mandatory elements include the outer ring with the twelve stars of the EU, which is on all national sides.

Discover the coins of the other euro countries.

Common side of euro coins: the reverse side

The common side of the euro coins is exactly the same for all euro countries. This is the reverse side, which shows the coin's denomination.

There are three variants, distinguished by design and composition:

  • The 1, 2 and 5 cent coins show Europe in relation to Africa and Asia on a globe.
  • The 10, 20 and 50 cent coins show a geographical image of Europe.
  • The €1 and €2 coins depict the map of Europe flanked by the twelve stars of the EU.

The designs for the reverse sides of the euro coins were made by Luc Luycx, who works at the Royal Mint of Belgium. Striking new coins The Royal Dutch Mint strikes the euro coins in the Netherlands. Read more about the production of euro coins.