Register insurers

The Financial Supervision Act (Wet op het financieel toezicht) distinguishes between various types of insurers:

  • life insurers;
  • funeral expenses and benefits in-kind insurers;
  • non-life insurers;
  • reinsurers, which are entered separately in the register.

Licencing requirement
Under the Financial Supervision Act, insurers must obtain a licence from DNB in order to be able to engage in their operations unless they have been exempted from the licensing requirement.

In certain cases, an insurer must have a licence for several insurance classes in order to be able to engage in its various operations. The register shows which operations an insurer is permitted to undertake. For instance, an insurer may have a licence permitting it to offer car insurance, but also, for instance, healthcare or life insurance.


The United Kingdom (UK) left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020. The withdrawal agreement between the EU and the UK provides for a post-Brexit transition period, which will end on 31 December 2020. During this transition period, EU law continues to apply to and in the UK (Article 127). References to Member States will include the UK (Article 7), with a few exceptions, none of which are relevant to financial services. Consequently, entries in the Financial Supervision Act (Wft) register for cross-border services from or to the UK, including Gibraltar, via passporting rights for providing financial services, or for branch offices established in the UK and vice versa, remain valid for the duration of the transition period.

Searching the registers