Outdated browser

You are using an outdated browser. DNB.nl works best with:

Marnix van Rij new deputy Executive Director at IMF

Press release

Marnix van Rij has been nominated as the deputy Executive Director of the Dutch-Belgian constituency at the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Van Rij (63), currently State Secretary for Tax Affairs and the Tax Administration, was chosen by a selection committee and his candidacy has been endorsed by the President of De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) and IMF Governing Council member Klaas Knot and Finance Minister Steven van Weyenberg.

Published: 07 June 2024

Marnix van Rij

His appointment will take effect from 1 November. The nomination was preceded by a vacancy announcement and an extensive selection process. The selection committee was composed of members from DNB and the Ministry of Finance, along with external experts on the IMF.

According to the selection committee, Van Rij has extensive experience in the world of international policy, he is a skilled negotiator and leader, and he possesses extensive knowledge of the financial world. He is also a team player par excellence, according to the committee, which is particularly important when working in a 16-nation constituency at the IMF, which has 190 member countries. He is also someone who is able to maintain good relations with all stakeholders, balancing interests and making compromises at multiple levels.

The Dutch-Belgian constituency at the IMF in Washington has an Executive Director who is appointed alternately by the Netherlands and Belgium for a period of four years. There are two deputies: one from the Netherlands or Belgium, and one from Ukraine. Currently, Paul Hilbers (from the Netherlands) is the Executive Director of the constituency. He will be succeeded by a Belgian colleague in November.

The Dutch deputy Executive Director is an alternate member of the IMF Executive Board. As of November, he is the most senior representative of the Kingdom of the Netherlands at the IMF, with joint responsibility for conveying the Dutch views on all issues discussed daily in the IMF Executive Board.

The IMF Executive Board consists of 24 members, representing all 190 IMF member countries. The largest countries have their own seats, while smaller countries are represented in constituencies.

The other countries in the constituency besides the Netherlands and Belgium are Ukraine, Romania, Israel, Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Armenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Moldova, Georgia, Montenegro and Andorra. The Dutch-Belgian constituency is the fourth largest IMF constituency by vote weight, after the US, Japan and China.

Media representatives can contact Bouke Bergsma by email at bouke.bergsma@dnb.nl or by telephone at +31 653 258 400.

Discover related articles