Outdated browser

You are using an outdated browser. DNB.nl works best with:

Paul Hilbers appointed Executive Director to the IMF

Press release

Published: 19 October 2020

Paul Hilbers

Paul Hilbers, until recently Director of Financial Stability at De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB), has today been appointed as new Executive Director at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) as of 1 November.

The constituency countries today approved his appointment. In November 2019, the Council of Ministers had approved the proposal by Finance Minister Wopke Hoekstra to nominate Paul Hilbers.

The Netherlands and Belgium have shared a seat on the Board of the IMF since 2012.  In this constituency they also represent Andorra, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Israel, Luxembourg, Moldavia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania and Ukraine.

Every four years, the Netherlands or Belgium in turn provide the constituency's Executive Director. The previous Dutch Executive Director was Menno Snel (2011-2016). Paul Hilbers will succeed Belgium's Anthony De Lannoy, who has held the position of Executive Director of the Dutch-Belgian constituency since 2016.

For more information, please contact Corina Ruhe on +31 6 5541 8351.

Discover related articles