Outdated browser

You are using an outdated browser. DNB.nl works best with:

Electronic money institutions having their registered offices in other member states


Non-resident electronic money institutions must first complete the notification procedure of the supervisory authority in their member state of origin before they are permitted to operate in the Netherlands under their European passport. The relevant supervisory authority will then forward its notification to DNB.

Published: 24 February 2017

Non-resident electronic money institutions are required to comply with Dutch laws and regulations. The European passport is only valid in EEA countries. These are the European Union member states, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.

Electronic money institutions having their registered offices in member states other than the Netherlands that want to provide services from a branch office in the Netherlands, or provide services to the Netherlands are not permitted to issue electronic money by way of an agent, but they are permitted to provide services by way of an authorised agent in the Netherlands. This requires authorisation from the supervisory authorities in the member state from which it operates.